Leeds Parliamentary Election Constituencies


The Redistribution of the Seats Act of 1885 divided the city into five constituencies.  Boundary changes have seen these amended and the number of constituencies increased over the years.

Leeds Constituencies 1884
Leeds Constituencies in 1885



Size of the Leeds Registered Electorate before 1885 when the Constituencies were Created

The Reform Bill of 1832

This granted the vote in Leeds to any male who: –  was an ancient franchise holder; occupied as owner or tenant a property of any house, counting house, warehouse, shop or other building of the clear yearly value of £10; lodgers of a property if sharing with other lodgers and the value divided by the number of lodgers came to £10 each. However, if the landlord occupied any part of the property he and not the lodgers were deemed to be in occupation.


The Representation of the People Act 1867

This extended the borough franchise to: –  householders after a one year residential qualification and who paid rates; to lodgers after a one year residential qualification and paid an annual rent of £10 a year.


The Representation of the People Act 1884

This created a uniform franchise: –   for every householder and lodger in every borough and county based on the franchise created for the English boroughs in 1867.

1832        Registered electorate in Leeds –  4,172

1852        Registered electorate in Leeds –  6,406

1868        Registered electorate in Leeds –  37,510

1884        Registered electorate in Leeds –  51,228


The Redistribution of Seats Act 1885

This redrew boundaries to create equal electoral districts  and  making Leeds a borough of six constituencies: Central, East, North, South and West.


Elmet & Rothwell
Morley & Outwood
Morley & Rothwell
North East
North West
South East
South & Morley